Waiting game

I have never been a very patient person… it’s just not in my nature (my poor poor un born child! thankfully the man friend has more patience than anyone I know- Balance! it’s important).

Any who, waiting of any kind- let alone the life changing kind- has never been my strong suit. The only way I can survive is by keeping myself busy with odd jobs here and there. Everyone keeps telling me to rest and relax while I can but I honestly find keeping busy more relaxing then sitting around like a bump on a log.

Todays ‘job’ was to prep some make ahead breakfast foods for the crazy moments ahead of me and I came up with a totally delicious ‘kitchen sink’ granola. You are going to want to make some of this- SO GOOD!

IMG_5030-1

Measurements are a little hazy as I did a little of this a little of that but i’ll share anyways 🙂

4 cups gluten free oats

1/2 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/2 cup chopped raw peanuts

1/2 cup chopped raw almonds

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

3/4 cup chopped raw pecans

1 cup dried cranberries

1/4-1/2 cup coconut flakes

1/4 cup chia seeds

1/4 cup- 1/2 cup flax seed (whole)

1.5 teaspoons cinnamon

6 tablespoons of melted coconut oil

1/2 cup maple syrup

Preheat to 325 degrees.

Stir all dry ingredients together. Add wet and stir to combine.

IMG_5025

Pour out on parchment lined baking sheets (I needed 3) and bake for 30 minutes- stirring half way. Allow to cool completely before storing. I like to keep granola in glass jars in my freezer :).

I just threw in whatever nuts and seeds I had on hand- just use whatever you have and adjust your liquid ingredients as needed.

This granola is great on its own, with a little almond milk, on top of a smoothie, mixed with a little yogurt etc.,

That’s it. Easy peasy! Hope you enjoy 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

