Pesto Pizza and pasta

Happy Monday everyone. I just wanted to pop in and share a fantastic weekend combination meal I whipped up on Friday that served us all the way through Sunday dinner. The weekends are for delicious meals but also for ease and relaxation. Whenever I have the time to properly meal prep I go for it!

On Friday I roasted up a bunch of veggies, whipped up an easy pesto and was good to go!

The baby is NOT a fan of dairy so my pizza was sans cheese and the pesto was made with nutritional yeast instead of the classic parm.

Okay so here’s what you need!

IMG_3303.JPG

(a little bacon for the man friend… and maybe a little for me to snack on while cooking)

Caramelized onion– slice a large onion into strips and sautee in coconut oil until golden.

Roasted veggies

2 sweet potato’s chopped

2 organic portobello mushrooms cut in strips

1 pint of organic tomatoes

Toss all veggies in a little coconut oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast at 400 for about 30 -40 mins, stirring often (the tomatoes will finish much earlier than the mush and potatoes)

Pesto

1 head of organic kale cleaned and chopped

1 package of fresh basil pulled off the stem

1 clove of garlic diced

1 handful of walnuts (probably a heaping 1/4 cup)

2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

2-4  tablespoons of water

1/4 cup nutritional yeast

Pinch of salt

Whip everything together in the food processor until its nice and creamy.

Once all your veggies are roasted, onions are caramelized and pesto is made you’re ready to go.

On Friday night I made pizza using all of the above (sans cheese for me)- I guess more of a flat bread. The combination was amazing! I just used a store bought gluten free vegan pizza crust. This would be fantastic with a little feta or goat cheese.

IMG_3283.JPG

Saturday night I boiled up a little quinoa pasta, tossed pasta with pesto, onions and roasted tomatoes and dinner was served (add chicken and cheese for the man friend)- it was so easy and delicious. After dinner on Saturday we still had enough leftovers for Sunday dinner- bonus! We both loved the pizza from Friday so much we decided to do it again!

Food wise it couldn’t have been easier but it was also extremely nutritious. A full head of kale in the pesto and you honestly could not even taste it. Pizza and pasta are huge favourites for me but I always feel somewhat guilty after indulging, not at all this weekend 🙂

Pesto and roasted veggies are so versatile- the combinations are endless! Next time I think i’ll make a nice pesto veggie omelette on the Saturday or Sunday morning with leftover roasted sweet potato’s on the side.

Any who i’m babbling… all this to say I love meal planning and I love repurposing leftovers.

Hope you enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

