New Year, New Me, New Adventure

Here we are in the first week of the New Year. Everything feels so fresh and exciting. It’s like the first week of school- all new supplies, new classes, new teachers. I’m a real sucker for fresh starts.

I love me some New Years resolutions. I normally spend weeks creating them and printing them out to track throughout the year. I find it so incredibly motivating to set goals and start checking them off.

This year however, is a little different for me. I have 1 resolution and 1 only.

Focus on staying in the moment- enjoy each moment and day as it comes- don’t stress about tomorrow, I can deal with it then

There are a few reasons why I chose to only have one resolution this year. #1 and most importantly I’m pregnant :). In a few short months (5!) I will be a brand new mama bear. There are a lot of overwhelming thoughts and decisions that come with a responsibility as large as becoming a parent! Of course I want to be prepared for what’s to come but I don’t want to waste my time stressing on the ‘what ifs’- I will deal with them as they come (I hope!)

Back to the resolution… at this point in my pregnancy, 5 months, I am focusing purely on being as healthy as I can (within moderation). I am trying my very best to keep up a regular exercise routine about 4-5 days a week and to eat mostly home made whole foods. These are things I can do daily that I know will positively impact the health of me and the baby. Some days i’m not going to have a lot of energy and i’m not going to feel like a green smoothie or salad- that’s fine! those days I will choose to sleep in, eat what feels good and move on to the next day.

This is all so new to me, I have NO IDEA what to expect and that is both extremely exciting and terrifying. If I can commit to tackling each moment and day as they come I know I can get through this with a big smile on my face.

Okay enough babble. I thought i’d share a few of my eats that have been getting me through this pregnancy so far. I should note that the first 4 months were pretty awful for me- I was extremely sick and could really only tolerate bagels, cereal, chips, avocado sushi, rice and the occasional piece of fruit. Now that most foods are back on the table I plan to focus on variety for the rest of my pregnancy.

As you can clearly see the first few months were filled with salty carbs- I honestly could not stomach even a piece of lettuce. Sometime just the sight of veggies made me sick to my stomach!! Thank god those days are over! I’m now really getting back into big salads, stir fry veggies, fresh fruit, whole grains, smoothies and the occasional treatie 🙂

The recipe I wanted to share with you today is a really easy, super nutritious soup.

Black bean and veggie soup

2 cups dried black beans (soaked over night) and prepared

2 stalks of celery diced

2 carrots diced

1 onion diced

3 cloves of garlic diced

4 cups home made broth (I used chicken but veggie broth would be great)

1 can (small) diced tomatoes in juice

2 tsp ground cumin

pinch of salt and pepper to taste

IMG_3240

In a large stock pot heat up some coconut oil and sauté the onions for 2-3 minutes, add in the garlic for a minute before adding in the carrots and celery. Sauté for about 5 minutes until all the veggies are going soft and add in the cumin, salt and pepper. Once the spices are incorporated add in the broth and let simmer for about 20 minutes (until the veggies are cooked through). At this point add in half of the beans and puree either with a immersion blender or a blender until smooth (or mash up if your too lazy like me). Add back to the stove and add in the remaining beans and canned tomatoes. Let everything warm up, taste to make sure you have the right amount of salt and pepper and then serve when ready.

I love this soup with some rice or quinoa and with a little diced avocado on top. This soup is great in the fridge for a few days or it can be frozen in batches for later eats.

IMG_3243

(not very photogenic but delicious! trust me!)

Hope you enjoy as much as we did 🙂

Here’s to a happy, healthy exciting 2016 for everyone

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

