The perfect picnic salad

Happy Friday everyone!

I’m not sure if you were aware, but yesterday was national picnic day. When I found that out yesterday morning I thought- what a great idea for dinner time!

I went about rustling in my fridge for some good picnic dinner time ideas and came up with a super tasty- almost potato salad-but not potato salad at all- salad (Long winded I know!)

By the time the man friend got home from work the sky had opened up and it was raining pretty hard- picnic fail! But because it has been so hot and dry here I was actually super excited for the rain and we just had an indoor picnic- AKA dinner at home like every other night.

The weird salad concoction was a big hit!

IMG_0132

2 cups chopped broccoli

1 cup diced carrots

1 cup diced apple

1/4 of a red onion diced

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Dressing:

1/4 cup tahini

2 tsp maple syrup

2tsp miso

2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup water

Blend up until smooth and creamy.

Toss salad with dressing until fully incorporated and serve either as is or on top of a bed of greens (what I prefer to do).

Super easy and delish! What I love most about salads like this is that they won’t wilt up- they stay nice and fresh in the fridge for a few days.

If the weather continues to be amazing I will definitely remake for a real picnic next week.

Hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

