Lazy dinners

Wow it has been a long time. No real reason other than I’ve been really lazy lately and at the end of the day the last thing I want to do is use my brain or be in front of my computer. Tonight is a little different because we just finished dinner and I felt like it was definitely a blog worthy dinner. I don’t always partake in Meatless Monday but I try my best to incorporate more veggie meals into my meal routine.

Tonight, as with most nights, I didn’t want to spend a long time in the kitchen and I definitely didn’t want to go grocery shopping so I just dug around in my pantry and fridge until I came across an easy combo.

 Brown rice pasta bowl with chickpeas, sun-dried tomatoes, garlic and steamed kale.

IMG_7340

4 cups of brown rice pasta (we used spaghetti but Fuseli would be good too)

½ cup of chopped rehydrated sulphate free sundried tomatoes (I used these)

1 can of rinsed chickpeas

2 cloves of garlic minced

1 tbsp of tomato paste

1-2 tbsp of olive oil

3 -4 cups fresh chopped kale (1 bunch)

Salt and pepper to taste

In a medium pot bring water to boil and cook up 4 cups of gluten free pasta. When the pasta has about 20 seconds left, throw in the chopped kale to let it wilt down.

While the pasta is cooking-in a large frying pan, sauté chickpeas, garlic, tomato paste and sundried tomatoes in a little coconut oil.

Once the pasta and chickpeas are done combine the two in a large bowl and mix together with olive oil, more salt and pepper and some cheese (optional- parm would be good!).

I know this doesn’t sound great, but trust me it was really good. I think it would also be delish with the addition of sliced olives, lemon zest, and maybe some capers.

I am definitely not a vegetarian, I love meat, but I do think it is important that we all incorporate more veggie meals into our diet. These meals are great for your health, great for your waist line and are light on the old wallet! Win-win-win in my books. Anyways I hope you try it out and enjoy 🙂

I will be back soon with another must make holiday desert recipe! Good night

One thought on “Lazy dinners

  1. Shelby November 17, 2014 at 8:37 pm Reply

    Sounds delicious!!

Leave a Reply

