Weekly food prep

I’ve talked a few different times about how much I love prepping large quantities so I always have good food ready for when the huger strikes. I definitely go through food prep phases; right now I am all about a giant quinoa salad. Each week the veggies change but it is essentially whatever veggie and seeds or nuts you have on hand get mixed into a few cups of quinoa.

IMG_0697

This weeks bowl contains:

1 yellow squash grated

½ head purple cabbage grated

1 apple grated

1 organic red pepper chopped

1 bunch green onions chopped

2 carrots grated

2 cups of cooked quinoa

1cup raw sunflower seeds

Juice of 2 limes

A few glugs of avocado oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix everything together in a giant bowl and store in the fridge; I have been eating this salad for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. Really whenever I’m hungry I grab a scoop of this yumminess. I personally find when I have something yummy and healthy like this on hand I am less likely to grab something sweet- hello cookies, muffins, scones, cake… Anything sweet anytime all the time!! I LOVE BAKED GOODS! Which is totally fine, in moderation. If I don’t have healthy things on hand I will 100% of the time go for a delish baked good instead of spending the time to make something, that’s just who I am. It doesn’t help that I have one of the BEST gluten free bakeries 2 blocks away.

Now that we are slowly entering fall/winter it is even more important to have meals prepped in the fridge ready to go. I don’t know about you but I generally crave more comfort foods in cooler weather where as in the summer it’s really easy to throw together a quick salad.

My favorite winter prep foods include:

  • Roasted sweet potato wedges- chop sweet potatoes into wedges, toss in coconut oil and salt. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes, flip and bake for another 10 minutes
  • Roasted mixed vegetables- sliced peppers, carrots, onion, mushrooms
  • Pre-cooked meat- chicken, ground beef, pulled pork
  • Stews and soups- veggie, chicken or beef
  • Baked egg cups- whisked eggs with chopped veg baked in muffin tins-350 for 15/20 minutes

Basically I love to have little meals on hand so the temptation for oh so good baked goods is taken away. I am not afraid to admit that I have ZERO self control around delicious ‘bad for me’ foods

Leave a Reply

