Random eats

Random eats

Hi Hi everyone. I know a few weeks ago I said I’d be back to regular blogging but once again life, work and school took president, however, all of that will change next week because I’ll be done school for good!!! I am SO very excited to have a bit of a breather before I decide where I want to go with all this school stuff. In the meantime I thought I’d pop in and share some of my eats over the past few weeks.

 

Lately I’ve been obsessing over fresh berries (see last post), however, last night I took it to a new level when I purchased 20 pounds of fresh organic blueberries from one of my classmates!

IMG_7023

SO AMAZING. Since bringing them home last night I’ve been brainstorming ways I can slip them into every single meal- they are heavenly! i’m thinking dressings, smoothies, cocktails, salads, marinades… everything! Blueberries are one of the best super foods so why not!?

While we are chatting berries lets talk about these awesome popsicles I made to help keep cool during these crazy hot days! Not only are they super refreshing they are full of wholesome ingredients that won’t send your blood sugar sky-rocketing (aka no guilt with eating the whole batch… or is that just me).

IMG_7026

1 banana (frozen or fresh)

1 ½ cup fresh or frozen strawberries

1 can of full fat coconut milk

1-2 tbsp of maple syrup (depending on how sweet you want it. I omitted the sweetener all together and they were perfect)

All you do is blend everything together, pour into Popsicle molds and you’ve got the perfect healthy yummy treat to help you cool off from these crazy temperatures.

Along with the handfuls of fresh berries and popsicles my meals have been super random, no planned meals, just eating whatever we have in the fridge. A few people have asked what my normal meals look like so I thought I’d share a few.

IMG_6901 My classic weekend meal- BBQ organic steak, with BBQ veggies (yellow squash, red peppers, mushrooms and onions) and 1/2 an avocado.

IMG_6905 IMG_6926

These two are fairly common post workout breakfasts. Soft boiled eggs, sautéed kale, a baked plantain and 1/2 an avocado. OR. Roasted sweet potato, some roasted chicken, fresh berries, some sprouts and 1/2 an avocado (can you see a theme- I love avocado!)

IMG_6944 And then finally a go to a classic weeknight meal. Zucchini noodles (made with this) tossed in homemade avocado pesto, topped with garlic sautéed prawns. YUM!

The avocado pesto is something I make often because it’s easy, tasty and super filling.

1 ripe avocado

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 clove of garlic minced

1 handful of fresh basil

A few glugs of good extra virgin olive oil

Salt and peper to taste.

Whirl everything together in your food processor and your done. It tastes great on your noodles of choice but is also great as a dip for cut up veggies.

There you have it. That is basically what a lot of my meals look like on a daily basis. And yes I like to place everything ‘just so’ on my plate- I can be a little particular 😉

This has been a long babbling post so i’ll leave you all for a few more days.

Next time i’m back i’ll be done school!! Can’t believe it- 2 years has gone by so fast!

I’ll leave you with these picture of Taffy because- well because she is just so cute!

IMG_6902IMG_6889

Leave a Reply

