The great juicing challenge!

This past week I encountered something I thought I would NEVER do. Lets rewind a bit first shall we? Sunday night the man friend and I decided to watch the documentary Fat Sick and Nearly Dead, if you haven’t watched it- watch it now, it’s great (you can see it on Netflix). Throughout the movie we kept nodding our heads in agreement and discussing how much sense everything they were saying made (yes I know juicing is not for everyone). At the end of the movie we got into a discussion/ debate about whether either of us food lovers could ever go an extended period of time without eating. I’m normally a eat every 2-3 hours person so the idea seemed completely far-fetched. The man friend kept insisting that I could totally do it and after a little prodding I decided, why not, if those people in the movie could do it, why couldn’t I? So I didn’t lose my motivation I started bright and early Monday morning. I decided I would do 7 days of 3-4 juices per day as well as lots of herbal tea, water and home made kombucha. I decided to keep a little journal to record how I felt throughout the entire experience and I thought I’d share it with you incase anyone wanted to challenge themselves. Generally speaking I started the day on a fruitier note and shifted to more veggie juices throughout the rest of the day.  Normally I workout 5-6 days a week either crossfitting or running with the pup but I decided to give myself a break this week and just focus on nice long walks with the pup.

Day one was a breeze; I was still feeling very determined, motivated and excited. My energy levels were great throughout the day however, towards the evening I started feeling very tired and hungry- the doubtful thoughts started crawling in, why the heck was I doing this!

Image

Day two was a bit of a struggle. I woke up starving with a headache however, after my morning hike with Taff I was feeling much much better. It’s crazy how getting out in nature and getting some fresh air changes your mentality.

Image

Day three was definitely the hardest day. I had a headache on and off with very little energy as well as a nagging hunger all day long! Its was a toughie! I almost quit a few times but managed to stick it out.

Image

Day four was my turning point. I bounced out of bed and felt great all day long. I started feeling very grateful for this challenge and my motivation was restored.

Image

Day five, I slept very very well and woke up feeling great and full of energy. No real hunger or cravings just really energetic. It was definitely helpful that I could see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Image

Day six was another tough day. I had minimal energy and was generally hungry all day long. I was really missing food-preparing it, smelling it, eating it, everything! I was very ready to be done with it all but there was NO WAY I was giving in when I was so close.

Image

Day seven, FINALLY! The end was so close I could taste it! It was a little bit of a struggle merely because I was so excited for the end but I stuck with it and put my self to bed early.

Image

As you can see I made it! It was a roller coaster for sure! Looking back I’m so so glad I did it. Not just for the nutritional benefits but also for the confidence it gave me in my self control, normally I can’t turn down a treatie let alone only consume juice for a whole week. It gave me confidence that if I really want to do something I can do it :). Apart from a few moments I really wasn’t that hungry. It’s funny how when you provide your body with all the vitamins and minerals it needs you don’t crave crap!It was nice to be able to give my digestive system a bit of a break, especially seeing as I have so many digestion issues. Did you know the cells that line your GI tract have a 3 day turnover, that means every 3 days new cells line your GI tract. By giving my digestive system a break I was able to properly promote internal healing and I have to say I suffered ZERO digestive complaints the entire 7 days, which for anyone that knows me is a complete miracle!

On day seven I got pretty excited about eating food but knew that I really needed to ease into eating slowly. I wrote up a meal plan and went grocery shopping for lots of vegan goodies. I decided I would eat light vegan meals with at least 1 juice a day for the next 3-4 days. It is really important to not over do it after a juice cleanse. Imagine going from only juice for 7 days and then a giant steak on day 8- hello shock to the system!

To give an example of my post cleanse diet: today I ate a smoothie for breakfast (mango, strawberry, banana and spinach), roasted kobacha squash and hummus for lunch, a delicious green juice (recipe to follow) for a snack and a packed salad (kale, tomato, apple, avocado, carrot, apple and hummus) for dinner.

Image

Easy for the digestive system and delicious!

The man friend and I have had a few discussions on how we hope to continue juicing (although he didn’t do a strict 7 days cleanse he did incorporate 1-2 juices into his diet for the 7 days), we hope to include 1-2 fresh vegetable juices daily.  I have even been tossing around the idea of a 1-day juice day every week or every 2 weeks but we shall see how that goes. Needless to say we are both hoping to incorporate a lot more fresh juices into our diet, they really made us feel great!

Before I babble on even more I will leave you with my favorite juice recipe.

Cleansing greens (serves 2)

1 lemon

1 piece of ginger about half the size of your thumb

3 granny smith apples

4 stalks of celery

A handful of parsley

2-3 handfuls of spinach or kale

1 cucumber

One more quick note, make sure EVERYTHING you juice is organic! Because there is no fibre in the juice all the vitamins go directly to your cells. If you juice conventional produce covered in chemicals your basically allowing all of those chemicals to go directly into your body without any filter. The whole point of juicing and cleansing is to aid the body in detoxifying and proving your body with much needed nutrients. Juicing conventional produce will only make the body more toxic thus making your efforts pointless.

With all of that being said Happy Juicing! Is anyone else out there big juicers? Thoughts?

Side note: people that should stay away from juicing are:

  • Anyone with blood sugar issues
  • Juice cleanses should be avoided by pregnant or breast feeding mothers
  • Anyone with liver issues- metabolizing all the fructose in fresh juice can be very taxing on the liver.
Leave a Reply

