Snack Attack- Donut love

While everyone and their sister is busy trying to keep their ‘no treaty’ New Year resolution I have gone the other way. Life is all about balance and instead of completely depriving myself I have decided to allow myself the occasional indulgence.

My latest snack of choice- donuts

The other day I went out and bought a mini donut maker and have been deep in taste testing ever since… It’s a tough job but someone’s gotta do it 😉

My favorite at the moment are vegan, paleo donuts slathered in coconut butter and cinnamon or coconut butter and raw cacao, trust me- they are delicious!

Image

¼ cup coconut flour

¼ cup potato starch

3 tbsp coconut sugar

¼ tsp baking soda

¾ tsp baking powder

Splash of vanilla (about 2 tsp)

Sprinkle of cinnamon (1/2 tsp)

2 tbsp melted coconut oil

6 tbsp almond milk (or coconut milk)

Mix everything together until the batter is nice and smooth. It will thicken a fair bit but I promise it’ll cook up perfect. This makes about 9 mini donuts.

Once the donuts are done I simply slather coconut butter on them (coconut oil would be yum) and either eat them as is or sprinkle a little cinnamon on them. You can of course play around with whatever toppings you’d like to try, chocolate, vanilla, lemon, honey, maple bacon etc.,

Life is too short not to enjoy daily treaties! I just try to make sure they are mostly homemade so I can control the ingredients and feel good about my choices.

Also, if you haven’t tried coconut butter, get on it!

Image

I hope you all have had a delicious weekend 🙂

Taffy wanted to say hi

Image

Leave a Reply

