To sprout or not to sprout

20131107-093841.jpg

I’m just over halfway through the liver detox, things are going okay… everyone else doing it is feeling fresh, light weight and much better while I’m still struggling with low energy, bad skin and slight nausea- good times! In fairness I have a lot more digestive issues than most so I did expect to be struggling a little more.

For this weeks Tasty Tuesday I didn’t have much energy to get creative so I just put a few random things from my pantry together and voila, dinner was made.

Even though I’m not a huge bean fan (they hurt my tummy) I seem to be able to tolerate sprouted beans much better.

Why sprout?

There are many many benefits to sprouting not only your beans, but your grains, seeds and nuts as well. Most nutrients are ‘locked up’ by anti nutrients such as phytic acid and are ‘opened up’ through sprouting. Phytic acid locka up all the beneficial nutrients and enzymes but it also can be very irritating for your digestive system (‘the more you eat the more you toot’ ;)).

Sprouting is very easy to do at home, all you need is a mason jar and whatever bean, grain, seed or nut you’d like to sprout. Fill your mason jar about 1/3 full of desired seed, bean, grain or nut and then cover with water overnight. On the top of the jar place a sprouting screen and screw the lid over it. In the morning drain and rinse (through the screen) and then invert your jar so it can drain and so air can circulate. Continue to rinse 2-3 times per day until you see sprouts! easy peasy!

With the sprouted beans I decided to make some burgers to accompany my turnip fries and a big salad.

Sprouted bean burgers

Image

1 cup sprouted bean mix (any beans would work)

3 cups water

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

2 tbsp water

1 tbsp cumin

1 ½ tsp chili powder

2 cloves of garlic chopped

salt to taste

Cook beans according to directions.

Add everything to food processor and pulse until combined well. Make into burgers, whatever size you’d like, and bake in a 350 oven for about 20 minutes, flipping half way.

These burgers would be great topped with some avocado and tomato (I just didn’t have any- shocker I know)

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

