Leftover love

Although I didn’t cook thanksgiving diner at my home this year I was still left with some leftovers, mainly a large half can of pumpkin puree. I spent quite a while contemplating its use… smoothie, pancakes, waffles, muffins, scones, donuts however, when I discovered I hadn’t made anything for dinner yet its fate was decided. Apart from the pumpkin soup the other week I have never cooked any savoury dishes with pumpkin so I thought it may be a fun challenge. What resulted was honestly one of the best dishes I have ever eaten 🙂

Pumpkin chicken chili! It was so so easy and super delicious

Image

1 onion diced

1 green pepper diced

1 can of diced tomatoes

about 1 1/2 cup pumpkin puree but really any amount will probably do

2 heaping tbsp chilli powder

2 heaping tbsp cumin

1 tbsp garlic powder

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 heaping tbsp almond butter

I used 4 large chicken breasts

1/2 cup white wine (I had some left over, you could use chicken broth alternatively)

Grab your slow cooker, dump in your wine (or broth), tomatoes, pumpkin, onions, peppers, chilli powder, cumin, cinnamon, garlic powder and salt and stir until combined. Add in the chicken breasts and make sure they are covered well. Turn on heat to either low for 6-8 hours depending on your cooker or as I did high for 4 hours. At about 3 1/2 hours in I  removed the chicken, shredded it with two forks, stirred in the 2 tablespoons of almond butter and added back the shredded chicken for another 30 minutes or so. Serve it up with some chopped avocado and your good to go!

If you ask me this is the perfect chilli, the cinnamon gives it real warmth and the almond butter gives it some added creamy depth. I am personally not a huge bean gal (even though I know all about their health benefits) but if you’d like to throw some black beans and maybe some corn in i’m sure it would taste wicked.

Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

