Fall in full swing

Hi Hi,

Image

I don’t know about you but when I think of fall I think crisp air, changing leaves, warm sweaters, boots, soups, stews and hot mugs of tea (herbal of course πŸ˜‰ ). This week’s Tasty Tuesday is a super simple pumpkin soup that I whipped up last minute with only a few things I had on hand (read: to lazy to get my butt to the grocery store). I opened up my pantry and saw a can of pumpkin, a can of full fat coconut milk, some quinoa, some thai green curry paste and cinnamon and thought hmm why not!

Image

I simmered the pumpkin, coconut milk, and a few tablespoons of thai green curry paste (depending on your spice preference) over medium heat while I cooked up about 1 cup quinoa separately. Once the quinoa was cooked I added it to the soup along with some chopped chicken, salt, and a few shakes of cinnamon. As weird as this combo seems it was crazy delicious! There is tons of pumpkin around this time of year I suggest you all go out and give this a try πŸ™‚

And just because I enjoy a little sweet treatie with my afternoon tea I thought i’d share my latest obsession πŸ™‚

Image

Peanut butter coconut cookies:

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/2 cup un-sulfured coconut flakes

1/2 cup almond flour

1/4 cup maple syrup

1 egg

1tsp cinnamon

1 tsp flax seed meal.

Mix everything together well and drop the sticky dough on a sheet of parchment paper and bake for 12-15 minutes at 350

Hope you enjoy!

 

One thought on “Fall in full swing

  1. Leftover love | Simone's edible adventures October 18, 2013 at 11:54 am Reply

    […] when I discovered I hadn’t made anything for dinner yet its fate was decided. Apart from the pumpkin soup the other week I have never cooked any savoury dishes with pumpkin so I thought it may be a fun […]

Leave a Reply

