Soup for the sickie

It is that time of the year again, kiddo’s are back at school and germs are flying around! After an amazing weekend away I came home to a lovely sore throat, sniffles, body aches and chills- good times! I guess that’s what happens when you don’t sleep, don’t drink enough water and eat lots of nutritionally void foods (read: chips and lots of 5 cent candies).

If you are anything like me the only things you crave when sick is comfort food, soups, stews, casseroles, toast with honey… Normally I stick with the basic chicken noodle however, this time I was craving a little more veggies so I decided to throw some random veggies in a pot and hope for the best, needless to say I was more than impressed 🙂

For this weeks Tasty Tuesday challenge I made a roasted garlic, cauliflower, zucchini, and avocado soup

Image

1 bulb of garlic roasted in the oven at 400 for about an hour

1 head of cauliflower,

1 large zucchini chopped

1 carton broth (veggie or chicken would work)

1-2 large avocados (depends on how creamy and avocadoie (that’s a word right) you want it to be)

¼- ½ cup nutritional yeast, to taste

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp salt

While garlic is roasting steam up the cauliflower so it is nice and soft, sauté the zucchini so it is fully cooked. Once veggies are cooked up you can either add all ingredients to a pot and use an immersion blender or you can divide and blend in a blender before heating through on the stove.

I personally loved the creamy texture of this soup; it was exactly what I was looking for. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do 🙂

It’s back to be for me, hopefully i’ll wake up feeling better.

Leave a Reply

