5 Minutes

We started a new class last night at school: Psychology of disease. We ended up talking a lot about intuition last night, especially about taking the time to listen to your subconscious. Our instructor spoke about a life changing challenge she took part in about 20 years ago, it was essentially the 5 minutes to a better life challenge.

What is it? what do you have to do?

What you need to do is take 5 minutes a day to meditate and just be with your thoughts for 100 days straight.

At first I thought, wow thats easy, only 5 minutes a day, I can do that. But then I really got thinking. Although I try to take some time for myself daily it usually involves my computer, my phone or my TV, its hard to really ‘check in’ with yourself with those kind of distractions. I’m definitely going to make an effort to take 5 quiet minutes a day. These few minutes will allow me to check in and really listen to what my intuition, my gut, is telling me about how I’m living my life, about the decisions I make daily. I’ve never really done any sort of meditation before so I plan on starting by just lying on the couch, eyes closed, focusing on my breathing and trying to clear my mind.

Why do it? At first I was a little sceptical but now I’m thinking whats the harm? It might be nice to take a few minutes each day to just visualize the things I want to accomplish and how I’m going to get there or to simply just quiet my mind- Im a bit of an over- thinker 🙂

What I like so much about this kind of challenge is that it focuses on something we all have- intuition- but don’t use. Think of how many difficult situations we would all avoid if we had all only listened to ourselves a little more. I don’t know about you, but when I slow down and really listen to myself the answer I’m looking for is always so obvious- almost shouting at me.

I’m hoping it will get my days off to a good start, wish me luck!

Now onto one of my current favourite treats.

Image

Blueberry banana crumble for 1 (Paleo, gluten-free, vegan):

Filling:1/2 ripe banana sliced thinly, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1 tbsp maple syrup… stir together and put in the bottom of a single oven safe ramekin

Topping: 3 tbsp unsweetened, un-sulphered shredded coconut, 1/4 cup almond flour, 1handful almonds chopped, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp coconut oil, 1 tbsp maple syrup… mix together and top filling.

Bake at 375 for 15 minutes or until nice and golden on top. I love this with a big dollop of organic vanilla greek yogurt, coconut milk ice cream or as a ‘cereal’ with a little almond milk poured on top.

Hope you enjoy it as much as we do 🙂

One thought on “5 Minutes

  1. glamourful April 19, 2013 at 8:03 pm Reply

    Everyone needs a reminder to reconnect with the most important person in their lives on a regular basis – ourselves! It’s so easy to lose touch. Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

