For the love of coconut oil

You know that deserted Island question? The one where your asked what 5 things would you bring with you to a deserted Island… well 1 of my 5 would most definitely be coconut oil. I have a deep deep love for coconut oil. At first I thought it was just a phase, but here we are about 3 years later and i’m still crushing. I use coconut oil not just for baking and cooking but for hair care and face care.

Image

(Note the size… I blow through this stuff crazy fast)

The health and nutritional benefits of coconut oil are endless! Not only is coconut oil naturally anti fungal, anti viral and anti bacterial, but it also promotes weight loss, is safe for cooking and baking and can be used as an all purpose body care product.

Yes coconut oil is a fat, mostly saturated fat, but, as stated before, it is composed of mostly medium chain fatty acids, which are very readily absorbed and used for immediate energy instead of being stored as fat.

So what are some of my favorite uses of this magical oil?

1-   Baking… I use it in almost every single recipe.

2-   Stir-frying, baking, roasting… there’s nothing like roasted veggies tossed in coconut oil, salt and pepper.

3-   Moisturizer… I use it as an all around body/ face moisturizer, bonus I smell like coconut.

4-   Scalp care… I have a fairly dry scalp and find massaging a small amount of oil into my scalp before bed a few nights a week really helps.

5-   Makeup remover… I have yet to find anything that works better.

6-   Hair conditioner… I use it as a over-night hair mask, your hair will never feel softer.

7-   Smoothies…I love a rich thick smoothie, the coconut oil adds a depth and richness that I can’t get enough of.

Sounds like a pretty amazing product right! Hopefully at this point everyone has some coconut oil kicking around the house and just needed a little reminder of how versatile it really is.

As I said before, my favorite use is for baking. I made these muffins the other day when I had a chocolate craving and they were a huge hit, hopefully you’ll enjoy them too.

Image

Chocolate chip muffins (submitted to wellness weekend)

3/4 cup brown rice flour

3/4 cup millet flour

1/2 cup almond flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/3 cup applesauce

1/4 cup coconut oil melted

1/4 cup coconut milk

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1 flax egg

1 cup chocolate chips

Mix dry together, mix wet together. Mix wet into dry, stir in chocolate chips, fill muffin tins ¾ full and bake at 350 for about 30 minutes (yields 12 muffins)

Any other favourite coconut oil uses out there?

One thought on “For the love of coconut oil

  1. Mimi April 1, 2013 at 9:04 pm Reply

    Love it Simoney!! I was just looking at coconut oil today in Whole Foods and wanting to by it!!

Leave a Reply

