Bananas for bananas

Not sure if you notice a theme here but I tend go through real food phases, one week its dates dates dates, the next I can’t get enough almond butter in my life and right now i’m in a real banana phase.

I think you’ll agree that another predominant theme here is my love of everything and anything sweet.

So when I combined the two…well it was love 🙂 Creamy dreamy banana(ey) love

ImageRaw banana cheesecake on a chocolate almond crust (Submitted to wellness weekend and raw food Thursdays):

Crust:1/2 cup almonds, 3/4 cup dates,1tbsp maple syrup, 1 tbsp coco powder… Pulse together in food processor until resembles a sandy texture, and then press into saran wrap lined cake pan. Place in freezer while preparing the filling.

Filling:1 1/2 cups cashews (soaked overnight, drained and rinsed well in the am), 1/3 coconut oil melted, 1/3 cup maple syrup, Juice of 2 lemons, 2 bananas, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 banana sliced up for the top… in a high speed blender, I used a vitamix, blend everything (minus the bananas) until very creamy. Pour half of the mixture in the prepared pan and then toss the two reserved bananas back in the blender until fully mixed. Pour on top of the first ‘cheese’ layer and freeze until firm. Right before serving, top with banana slices.

This cheesecake is not super banana(ey) but is complemented well with the hint of chocolate from the crust… Hope you enjoy

And… because I can’t help it, Taffy wanted to say hi 🙂

Image

2 thoughts on “Bananas for bananas

  1. Heather @Gluten-Free Cat April 19, 2013 at 5:16 pm Reply

    OH my goodness, this look so good! I think I’m in a banana phase too. I’ve been making tons of banana-based raw cookies. You must link this banana cheesecake up to Raw Foods Thursdays. The linky is still open!

    http://www.glutenfreecat.com/2013/04/raw-foods-thursdays-41813/

    And hugs to Taffy! What a sweetie!

    Heather

    • simonesedibleadventures April 19, 2013 at 5:28 pm Reply

      Thanks for the tip! Banana based cookies you say… I’m going to have to check those out 🙂

Leave a Reply

