Food memories

I don’t know about you but I associate foods with different people. When I think of my mom I always think of toast with honey and tea-whenever we were sick growing up, my mom would bring us toast with honey on a little tray in bed, it always made me feel better. When I think of my older sister, I always think of banana bread- it was the first thing we made together, well, she made it and I licked the bowl but still :). And when I think of my dad I automatically think of beef B. Growing up it seemed my dad always had a pot simmering away on the stove. Even to this day, when I go visit him, I can smell the red wine, garlic and beef simmering on the stove about a mile away.

It’s funny how we associate smells with people and memories.

I have found myself walking down memory lane a lot these past few weeks, and this morning I woke up wanting to see my dad. He spends most of the winter out of town, so an actual visit wasn’t in the cards, but I went with the next best thing- I whipped up a big batch of his famous beef B. As soon as I started cooking, I couldn’t help but let my mind drift back to all those cozy Sunday nights with my dad, it was exactly what I was after.

I know everyone and their sister has a recipe for beef B, but honestly my dads is the best, most likely because of the butter and bottle + of red wine :). It is a little time consuming, but well worth the extra effort I promise.

Beef B (beef bourguignon): A large ‘cheaper roast’ cut into chunks, 3 large carrots peeled and chopped, 3 large parsnips peeled and chopped, 2 large onions chopped, 4 cloves of garlic diced, 1 tablespoon dried rosemary, 1 bottle of red wine (I went with an Argentinian malbec), at least 1 cup beef broth, butter, salt and pepper…

Heat butter in a large pan, sear the beef on each side and add to a big saucepan (I do this in batches). When done, deglaze the frying pan with some red wine, and then add to the saucepan.

Image

Add chopped onion and garlic to frying pan with rosemary and stir-fry for a few minutes until softened, add to the saucepan. Add the rest of the wine to the saucepan and let simmer. After 20 minutes or so add the chopped carrots, parsnips and mushrooms, season with salt and pepper (not too much because the sauce will reduce and you can always add more), you may need to add more wine or beef stock here. Let simmer for about 30 minutes and then turn off heat and let it cool.

Image

The trick to my dad’s beef B is to cook it a day or 2 ahead of time and let it sit, he always cooks and simmers it for 20-30 minutes, then another 20-30 minutes the next morning and again simmers before serving, it keeps cooking as it cools down which intensifies the flavours and makes the beef super tender!

This is great served atop a big pile of mashed potatoes, but these days I prefer a big pile of mashed cauliflower.

Hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

