Lent challenge

Today marks day 1 of lent, I am not a religious person per say, but I really love a good challenge. My understanding is that lent is a time when many Christians prepare for Easter by committing to fasting or giving up certain types of luxuries as a form of penitence for 40 days. Every year I like to choose 1 indulgence to temporarily give up, in the past I have given up: chocolate, alcohol, pop, and chips. This year I have decided to give up refined, processed sugar/sweeteners. I don’t consume a ton of processed sugar but it does sneak into my diet via canned/jar sauces, the occasional frozen yogurt trip, a little gluten free treat while out and about, sushi rice, any gluten free bread…

I want to use these next 40 days to experiment with more homemade sauces, dips and dressings– things I tend to buy instead of make (due to pure laziness and convenience).

I will definitely be eating at home more these next 40 days, as it is often too hard to determine if sugar is added to you meal when eating out. When I do have to eat out however, I will be sure to avoid most sauces and dressings, opting instead for olive oil, lemon, salt and pepper.

I have admitted in the past that sugar is a problem for me and i’m hoping this challenge will help me cut down on sweets and quell my always-screaming sweet tooth.

One treat I am not giving up is my occasional glass of red wine, I don’t drink often, but I do enjoy the occasional glass of wine after a long week.

Seeing as I do have a pretty intense sweet tooth, I will be experimenting with lots of sugar free treats. To start off with, a few items that will become staples in my diet are: 

Dates stuffed with raw almond butter rolled in unsweetened unsulfured coconut;

Image

Warm coconut milk with a sprinkle of cinnamon; 

Banana and date sweetened puddings (chia/avocado puddings);

Roasted sweet potato topped with almond butter (don’t knock it till you try it!);

And my latest experiment, a cinnamon, vanilla, banana pancake cooked in coconut oil topped with almond butter (recipe coming soon)

Is anyone else taking part in a lent challenge? Any tips out there to hold yourself accountable?

For me, i’m hoping that by just putting it out on the blog i’ll feel more pressure to stay honest.

One thought on “Lent challenge

  1. Loretta. S. March 3, 2013 at 11:41 pm Reply

    I usually give up one to two things for lent. The whole challenge of it makes me feel fulfilled upon completion. This year I am giving up meat, cheese, egg, pasta, and bread and some days are more challenging than others especially when eating out. Good luck to every one out there giving up something this year!

Leave a Reply

