What a weekend

Been a while since i’ve checked in… I was out of my kitchen for 2 weeks house/dog-sitting, but i’m back now and more than ready to make up for my cooking/baking hiatus.

This past weekend, one of my besties was in town visiting from Ottawa. Our weekend was jam packed- lots of delicious food, drinks, treats and little adventures.

Image

Its amazing what a weekend with good friends does for the soul :). I feel like a different person- my face still hurts from laughing and smiling so much :). She was the first house guest i’ve had since I moved into my place over a year ago, and wanted to make her a little something special. I whipped up a batch of muffins thinking, who doesn’t love a blueberry muffin to start the day, especially on their holiday.

Image

Blueberry streusel muffins:  1 cup blueberries,

1 cup rice flour,
1 cup Almond flour ,
1 tsp baking soda and 1tsp baking powder.
1/2 cup apple sauce,
1/2 cup maple syrup,
2tbsp flax meal mixed with 6 tbsp warm water (stir and let thicken), 1 tsp vanilla…
Mix wet together, mix dry together. Add wet to dry, fold in blueberries. Scoop 1/4 cup into each muffin tin and top with streusel.
Streusel:

1/2 cup gluten free oats (could sub quinoa flakes),
1/4 cup coconut sugar,
1tsp cinnamon,
1 tsp vanilla, 2
tbsp melted coconut oil… mix well and top muffins.
Bake at 350 for 35-40mins (clean toothpick test).
These were super yummy and kept very moist throughout the weekend, please please give these a try and let me know what you think.
Hope everyone else had a great family day long weekend 🙂
2 thoughts on “What a weekend

  1. canada jenny February 12, 2013 at 3:54 pm Reply

    These look yummie I can’t wait to try making them.

    • simonesedibleadventures February 12, 2013 at 4:02 pm Reply

      They really were delish! let me know if you give them a try 🙂 thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

