It’s the little things

Maybe it’s just me, but around this time every year I feel like I fall into a bit of a slump. The holidays are over, your back to you everyday 9-5; your New Years Resolutions that you were so enthusiastic about seem less exciting, the days seem to be getting colder…

This year I’m really trying to pull myself out of the slump by focusing on all of the little things that make me happy. Sure I don’t have a big holiday or event to look forward to, but I have a lot of little things to look forward to:

Gorgeous walks:

Image

Mornings like this:

ImageChocolate cake… its all about moderation 🙂 (recipe to follow)

Image

Hockey! Saturday night can’t come quick enough

Image

Doggy cuddles:

Image

Hanging out with friends:

Image

Date nights:

Image

Nights cuddled up in front of the fire:

Image

Comfort food: (Beef stew with collard greens)

Image

And even something as little as: my heart shaped apple bite

Image

It made my day 🙂

It’s about the little things!

Chocolate Coconut Cake with Chocolate Avocado Frosting:

Cake: ¼ cup cacao powder, ¼ cup coconut flour, 1tsp baking powder, 1/8tsp sea salt, 4 eggs, ¼ cup maple syrup, 1 tsp vanilla, ¼ coconut oil melted…mix dry ingredients, mix wet ingredients, add wet to dry and bake, in a preheated oven to 350 degrees, for roughly 20 minutes (until tooth pick comes out clean). Make sure you grease your pan well with coconut oil before baking or the cake will stick.

Frosting: 2 ripe avocados, 1/4 cup raw cacoa powder, 1/4-1/2 cup maple syrup (depending on how sweet you like it, start with 1/4c and add as needed), 1tsp vanilla… blend until creamy. Hope you enjoy 🙂

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “It’s the little things

  1. fromfltond January 18, 2013 at 7:42 pm Reply

    Great pics!! My favorite was the cake 😉 I’m going to have to try out that recipe.

    • simonesedibleadventures January 18, 2013 at 8:11 pm Reply

      It is a gooder… When I’m feeling a little lazy I often just whip up a batch of the frosting and eat it as a pudding, so good!

      • fromfltond January 19, 2013 at 7:37 am

        This could get dangerous for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

