Sunshine, oh how I’ve missed you

The past few days I’ve been a very lucky girl. On Thursday night after a long day of work, Monsieur and I took off for a week in Palm Springs!

20121216-161111.jpg
In typical fashion I got sick the day we left so it hasn’t been quite the trip we had planned, but I’ll take being sick in the sun over being sick in the rain/snow any day of the week. We’ve been loading up on fresh squeezed orange juice, amazing food and vino, taking nice long afternoon naps and the occasional sunny walk, my version of heaven!

20121216-164046.jpg
Hopefully before we head home to dreary Vancity I’ll have kicked these nasty sniffles to the curb.
Before we took off for our week in the sun I decided to try my hand at the much loved fish and chips. Of course my version included coconut (current obsession) and sweet potato fries, so it wasn’t quite like the classic, overly indulgent (albeit artery clogging, free radical forming) deep fried treat, but it was still really yummy and definitely worth a try.
20121216-162142.jpg

I personally really enjoyed the baked fish with a side of guacamole, but if I’m being honest there isn’t anything that I don’t think tastes better with a little guacamole, so use your own judgement. This recipe couldn’t be easier, I used a filet of cod but any white fish would work great.
Coconut, almond baked fish: 1 large filet of cod sliced into individual portions, 1 cup un sweetened coconut flakes (un sulphured) mixed with 1/2 cup almond flour and a pinch of salt (I also think some fresh parsley would be really nice here too), 1/2 cup brown rice flour, 1 egg lightly beaten… Put egg, almond/coconut mixture and brown rice in separate bowls. Roll fish in brown rice flour, dip in egg mixture and coat well with coconut. Once all the fish is coated with the coconut/almond mixture, bake in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes, once fish is flakey your good to go!
We really enjoyed this dish and will definitely be putting into our week night meal rotation.
Hope everyone is enjoying the pre Christmas festivities, I can’t wait to break out my amazing Christmas sweaters when we get home 🙂

20121216-163715.jpg

Tagged:

3 thoughts on “Sunshine, oh how I’ve missed you

  1. gokimgo December 24, 2012 at 2:28 pm Reply

    Merry Christmas! I just nominated you for the Leibster Award! Please go to this link for more information: http://kimskitchenblogdotcom.wordpress.com/myblog/

  2. gokimgo December 27, 2012 at 6:04 pm Reply

    This is a more direct link to the Leibster Award Post: http://kimskitchenblogdotcom.wordpress.com/2012/12/24/liebster-award/

Leave a Reply

