Almond Love

I am a big fan of peanuts, cashews, walnuts, pecans… but my true nut loves are almonds. I love everything about them, love them raw as a snack, roasted and chopped on salad, as a crunchy coating on chicken or fish, as a delicious milk and mostly as a yummy creamy butter.

Image

Roasted flax, hemp, maple syrup vanilla almond butter (Shared on wellness weekend): 2 cups raw almonds, 2 tablespoons flax seeds, 2 tablespoons hemp hearts, 2 tablespoons maple syrup. Toss together until coated well. Bake in oven for 30 minutes at 350, stirring halfway.

Image

pre oven

Image

post oven… I made a larger batch: 1/ cup more almonds, 1 more Tbsp flax, hemp and maple syrup so I would have a yummy roasted almond snack, I love how crunchy they are fresh out of the oven (this will make your home smell AMAZING!)

Image

Then once the almonds are cooled you just throw them in a food processor and blend away with 1.5 tsp cinnamon, 2 tsp vanilla and a pinch of sea salt. Be patient when blending, it will take a while (about 1o minutes). Make sure you stop and scrape down the sides when needed

Image

half-way, almond flour

Image

yummy creamy goodness, I put it on everything!

Since I already had the food processor out and dirty I figured it might be a good time to experiment a little with my new almond butter love so I made some macaroons

Image

almond butter, chocolate dipped macaroons: In the already dirty food processor add 3/4 cup shredded unsweetened, unsulphured coconut flakes, 1/4 cup almond flour, 1/4 fresh roasted almond butter (recipe above), 2 Tbsp maple syrup, 1 tsp vanilla and a pinch of salt. Blend until combined well, roll out 1 tablespoon ball and dip and drizzle with chocolate

Image

for the chocolate sauce I just melted 1/2 cup chocolate with 1/2 tsp coconut oil. Once macaroons are dipped and drizzled, place in fridge to firm up before eating.

These were so delicious and easy (once the almond butter was made), you can sub any almond butter you’d like but I promise you it’s worth the effort!

hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Happy Halloween! I will definitely be snacking on these bad boys over the sugar laden, processed candy that many will be handing out, does anyone else have any healthy halloween options?

Image

Yes, that is my feeble attempt at a pumpkin moustache ๐Ÿ™‚

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

