Peckish

Sometimes I find when 3:00 rolls around I am really craving a little snack, preferably sweet, that can carry me through till dinner. My latest obsession are roasted chickpeas (either canned or dried and soaked). Lately I’ve been tossing a can of chickpeas with about 1 Tbsp coconut oil, 1 heaping tsp of cinnamon and a sprinkle of coconut sugar. I then bake them on a foil lined baking sheet at 400-425 degrees for about 20-25 minutes, shaking the sheet after 10 minutes. You want the chickpeas to be crispy but not burnt. I love snacking on these little bad boys because they give me the sweetness i’m after, as well as the staying power from the protein and fibre to get me through till dinner. If your not a sweet person I have also tossed them with chili and cumin powder as a great vegetarian taco meat substitute in Mexican themed bowls, salads, stir-fry’s etc., as long as you mix lots of guacamole in whatever your eating you will be in love!

Image

I am a snacker/grazer so these little chickpeas are perfect for me; they are also super portable as an on-the-go snack.

Are you a snacky person? What are some of your go to snacks? Do you crave sweet treats like me or are you more savory?

I have class again tonight so i’ll be back later with a little tid-bit on what we learnt 🙂

Tagged: , ,

7 thoughts on “Peckish

  1. gokimgo October 12, 2012 at 11:49 am Reply

    I just have a question about the Chickpeas. If using the dried chickpeas, do you need to soak and cook or just soak only. How long do you soak the chickpeas? I’m looking forward to trying this. Thank You!

    • simonesedibleadventures October 12, 2012 at 11:58 am Reply

      I just soak a few cups of chickpeas in a large bowl (1:2 ratio) overnight, then in the morning I drain and rinse them and boil them for about 45 minutes. I’m pretty impatient so after30 minutes I start testing their done-ness. I like to make a few cups at a time because I love tossing them in salads or just snacking on instead of nuts in the afternoon.
      If you have peanut flour, a sprinkle of that with the cinnamon and sugar is so yummy! It almost tastes like roasted peanuts. Hope you enjoy!

      • gokimgo October 12, 2012 at 3:48 pm

        Looking forward to trying your recipe! I’ll have to get some chickpeas at the store next week. Thanks again!

  2. gokimgo October 18, 2012 at 2:57 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Kim's Kitchen Blog and commented:
    I just bought some chickpeas (garbanzo beans) and I’m ready to try this recipe. Anything crunchy definitely appeals to me! I’ll let you know how they turn out! Kim

  3. gokimgo October 18, 2012 at 7:43 pm Reply

    I did try roasting the chickpeas tonight. I made some mistakes. 1. I cooked the beans too long. The outer layer of the bean started pealing off. 2. I used Safflower Oil, which I think worked fine, but I tried to make them sugar-free and I stirred 1/2 t. stevia and 1/3 cup xylitol in with the oil, cinnamon, and beans in a bowl then poured into pan. After cooking for 25 minutes and not getting crunchy, I sprinkled about 2 Tbsp. organic sugar on top and cooked another 5 minutes or so and they started then getting crunchy.
    We really liked the crunchiness! Next time, I’ll not cook as long (It just seemed like they were not getting cooked all the way through. I did a quick soak; boiled beans for 2 minutes, then let sit for 30 minutes (probably should have let sit for an hour like you’re supposed to, then cooked for a little over an hour). And I will just use the organic sugar from the start. So much for me and my recipe substitutions!!! If I get the coconut oil and coconut sugar I’ll try them!

    • simonesedibleadventures October 19, 2012 at 10:51 am Reply

      oh sorry to hear it didn’t work out, I have never tried with stevia before, I think its the sugar that gives it that crunch, I only make these every now and then so I figure a little wont hurt….if you want no sugar but a good crunch you could try some olive oil and spices like rosemary and sea salt, or cumin and chilli powder just make sure you shake the pan out in the oven every 15 minutes or so to make sure they cook evenly and you should be good to go! I do love the coconut oil and the coconut sugar though so let me know if you give it a go

      • gokimgo October 21, 2012 at 8:11 pm

        I did try again. This time using olive oil and sea salt. I did the quick soak again, but soaked for an hour instead of 30 minutes. Then I cooked the chickpeas for 45 minutes and roasted in oven with olive oil and sea salt. I baked for 25 minutes. Let them set for a while and they were still a bit mushy on inside so I put them back in oven for another 15 minutes at 350 degrees and they turned out nice and crispy. My husband and I really like them a lot. I’m a crispy kind of girl! I’ve got almonds and brazil nuts soaking tonight to activate tomorrow for first time. Looking forward to getting them done. Thanks for all your ideas!

Leave a Reply

