Leftover loving

Like most people, I LOVE holidays… the family, the friends and the food 🙂 But, unlike most people, my favourite eats happen the next day, I am a leftover lover!

I always look forward to the creative ways you can make the same prepared ingredients into a totally different dish, this year was no different.

Thanksgiving dinner was delicious this year: juicy organic turkey (brined over night), cranberry and pear cranberry sauce, roasted garlic mashed cauliflower and potatoes,brown rice bread-less stuffing, grainy dijon grilled Brussel sprouts with caramelized onions and prosciutto and rosemary/sage gravy… it was yummy!

Image

This morning I woke up with a full belly ready to hit the kitchen. Last night before bed I through the bones, fresh rosemary and sage, some carrots, celery and onion in the slowcooker with water so I would have a good stock ready for soup making in the morning.

Image

I just sautéd 1 large onion with garlic, added chopped carrots and celery a few minutes later, added the stock and chopped up leftover turkey. I had a little bowl for lunch but most of it was bagged up and frozen for the upcoming cold and flu season (crossing fingers I don’t get it this year but its best to be prepared!)

I had a ton of cauliflower/potato mash leftover as well as mushrooms from the ‘stuffing’ so I thought i’d try my hand at a vegetarian (ish) shepherds pie.

Image

All I did was sauté some onion, carrots, celery and garlic until soft dump in about 4 cups sliced mushrooms and stir until softened then add about 2 cups chickpeas stirring thoroughly. At this point I added about 1/2 cup leftover gravy but some chicken broth or veggie broth would probably do the trick, I might add a little cornstarch to thicken it if you go the broth route…Then I just divided the mixture in 2 casserole dishes (I had a ton) and topped with leftover mash… preheat to 350-375, cover and cook for 20 minutes, remove foil and cook 15-20 minutes more.

Although there’s not a chance any pumpkin pie will be leftover there may be some leftover canned pumpkin or roasted pumpkin puree. I decided to make a yummy pumpkin curry which was amazing over brown rice with a little plain greek yogurt on top

Pumpkin coconut curry: 1 cup pumpkin, 1 cup coconut milk, 3 cups broth (I used homemade chicken), 1 tsp coconut oil, 1 onion, 2 cloves of garlic minced, 1 1/2 Tbsp curry powder, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup minced parsley, 1 can chickpeas, and salt and pepper to taste… sauté onion and garlic in coconut oil until soft, add curry and cinnamon, stirring until veggies are covered, add chickpeas, pumpkin and broth and let simmer for about 30 minutes until reduced a fair bit. At this point the chickpeas will be really soft, I used a potato masher to mash up some of the chickpeas to make it thicker, add in parsley and salt and pepper. The thickness is up to you but the flavours definitely intensify the more it is reduced so I would let this thicken up and reduce for another 15-20 minutes.

There are endless ways to spice up leftovers, what are some of your favs?

Tagged: , ,

3 thoughts on “Leftover loving

  1. emma October 9, 2012 at 10:53 am Reply

    Love getting to read your blog. xoxo

  2. Tina October 9, 2012 at 12:14 pm Reply

    Yum Simone – these all sound great!

Leave a Reply

