Farmers market love

Yesterday I got a call from my dad to join him for dinner with my older sister, brother in law and the 2 kiddos. I was asked to bring a dessert… At first I wasn’t sure what the heck to make but I figured a walk through the farmers market might give me the inspiration I needed.

20120924-112026.jpg

While I didn’t pick up any ingredients for dessert, I did manage to get some goodies for dinner as well as get a few ideas for dessert. Pumpkins and squashes were definitely at the forefront of the market which got me thinking a pumpkin chocolate chip cake of some kind would be delish.

20120924-112714.jpg
Not the prettiest loaf I’ve ever made but it turned out to be very yummy 🙂 this loaf would make a great addition to your morning cup of organic roasted coffee or herbal tea.
Pumpkin chocolate chip loaf:
2tbsp chia, 1/4cup warm water, 3/4 pumpkin (I used canned but fresh would be great), 1tsp vanilla, 1/2 coconut sugar, Zest of small orange, Juice of half orange , 1/3 coconut oil (melted), 2 tbsp apple sauce, 1 1/4 flour (I used a gluten free blend of brown rice, sorghum and tapioca starch), 1/4 tsp xanthan gum, 2 1/2 tsp baking powder, 1/4tsp salt, 1tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp, fresh nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cloves, 1/2 chocolate chips, Stevia- 1 vial
Mix chia seeds and warm water, let sit. Whisk dry ingredients together put aside, mix wet ingredients plus chia gel together well and then add to dry, mix well . Stir in chocolate chips. Coat a loaf pan in coconut oil, pour mixture in. Bake at 350 for 35-40 mins, tooth pick check after 35.

One of my favourite things to do is walk through the weekly farmers markets, poke around and see what’s growing locally and chat with farmers. Its a great place to connect with your community as well as the gorgeous food that will bless your table. This weekend take a walk around your local market and become inspired by the beautiful fresh produce 🙂

20120924-113609.jpg

Tagged: ,

One thought on “Farmers market love

  1. […] still farmers market obsessed, in fact I normally hit up 3 a week: 1 Friday night, 1 Saturday morning and then 1 Sunday morning. […]

Leave a Reply

