muffin, hold the muffin top

Baking to me is therapy… whenever i’m feeling happy, sad, angry, confused or tired I crave baking. I just love watching all the ingredients get blended together, the warmth from the oven, the amazing smells that take over your kitchen and of course the delicious morsel’s you are left with. Seeing as I am almost always baking I like to find ways to trim up on sugar, extra fat, refined flours etc., Last night I got the baking itch and jumped into the kitchen not having a clue as to what I wanted to bake, I just knew I wanted to bake. I decided I wanted it to be vegan, and gluten free as well as somehow incorporating the delicious summer berries I have stocked up in my freezer. After a little of this a little of that I was left with

Image

mini blueberry muffins, the perfect bite sized treat to easy my always nagging sweet tooth. Luckily I took note of ‘a little of this a little of that’ so here it is

mini blueberry muffins, submitted to wellness weekend– 12 mini muffins

2 Tbsp coconut oil

2 Tbsp apple sauce

1 Tbsp chia seeds mixed with 3 Tbsp warm water (to create a gel, a great egg substitute)

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup almond milk

1/4 cup coconut sugar

1 cup gluten free flour (I used a mix I keep handy in the pantry that I can sub cup for cup)

1 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup frozen blueberries

2 spoonfuls of mashed up raspberries

pre heat oven to 350- grease mini muffin tins

whisk melted oil, apple sauce and sugar until blended. Add chia gel, vanilla and milk, mix well. Add flour, baking powder and salt, stir well but don’t over mix. Stir in blueberries and raspberries. Bake for about 12-14 minutes and allow 5 minutes to cool.

Enjoy with a little smear of coconut oil and raspberry jam or simply by themselves. I had a few before bed last night and a few with tea as a yummy afternoon pick-me-up :).

hope you enjoy.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

