Being sick sucks!

Once again I am sick. For a supposedly healthy person I sure do get sick a lot! I have come to terms that until my life slows down a little (so maybe in 50 years) or I learn to deal with stress better I will continue down this road… oh joy!

Anyways with always being sick I have learnt a few things that really get me through the days. Here are my go to’s just incase you are feeling under the weather as well!

Fresh ginger tea. My immune system struggles a fair bit (hence I’m always sick), because of this I don’t generally run a fever to burn off the infection/invasion. Ginger is a diaphoretic that is great to help increase your bodies’ temperature and support your fever while your immune system does the work. I love pairing grated ginger with some alkalinizing fresh lemon juice and a little anti-microbial, anti-viral manuka honey!

Garlic. Garlic is amazing! It has so many great qualities: antiseptic, anti-microbial, anti-viral, diaphoretic, anti-spasmotic etc., in this case I use garlic for its diaphoretic, anti-viral, anit-microbial and antiseptic qualities. The best way to take garlic is to chop up 1 clove and let it sit for at least 1 minute, mix it up with some honey and eat it straight off the spoon. I like to do it 3 times per day. (side note: this is a great remedy for people dealing with candida problems, garlic is highly microbial but unlike most  it supports your beneficial bacteria instead of killing them off as well).

Bone broth. Bone broth is so so healing (hello chicken soup when your sick)! Bone broth is a mineral rich infusion made from organic bones, vegetables and herbs. Bone broth is amazing for your healing your GI tract, for improving digestion, for boosting your immune system, for bone health, for join, hair, skin and nail health… basically it’s amazing and should be apart of everyone’s dietary routine (unless of course you are a strict vegan/vegetarian).  I will go into depth on all the amazing benefits of bone broth another time but for now just know it is an amazing immune boosting tonic full of easily absorbable minerals that are difficult to obtain elsewhere and that it will help get you back on your feet quickly! To make a killer bone broth I just throw in about 2-3 pounds of organic bones (chicken or beef are my favorite), 2tbsp-1/4 cup apple cider vinegar (to help extract all the minerals), a chopped onion, some carrot, celery, garlic, parsley, ginger… really anything I have kicking around and I let it simmer in the slow cooker for 24 to 48 hours.

And last but not least, chocolate! Yes I have a killer sweet tooth but I also love all of the amazing health benefits real raw chocolate has. Raw chocolate is full of vitamins and minerals that help lower blood pressure and improve circulation, that promote heart heath, that protect against free radicals, that aid in proper digestion and most importantly that enhance your well-being! Lets be honest, when your sick everyone needs a little pick me up. It can be quite depressing lying there amongst your sea of dirty Kleenex.

On the weekend I attended a potluck and decided to get creative with chocolate, luck for me there was a little left over that has helped carry me through the past few depressive days (I’m quite pathetic when I’m sick I know).

Raw chocolate dream pie

Image

Crust: 2 cups walnuts, ¾ cup shredded coconut (unsulphered!), 1 ¼ cup dates… add to food processor and pulse until combined and sticky. Press into wax paper lined cake pan and place in freezer while you make the filling.

Filling: 2 cups raw cashews (soaked over night and rinsed well), ¾ cup raw cacao powder, ½ cup coconut oil melted, ½ cup maple syrup, a splash of vanilla and ½ cup almond milk… add everything to a high speed blender and blend until nice and creamy. Once mixed pour on top of crust and allow it to sit in freezer until set. Remove it from the freezer about 15-20 minutes before you want to serve it.

Well there you have it, that’s my go to sick arsenal and it works for me every time! Even if you’re not sick you should go ahead and make the pie, it is dangerously good! So so rich and chocolatey

Oh and how could I forget, lots and lots of cuddle’s from my pup never hurt!

Image

2 thoughts on “Being sick sucks!

  1. Dinner Bank November 19, 2013 at 1:03 pm Reply

    Get well soon and enjoy your sweet company. :) The cake looks really yummi :)

  2. simonesedibleadventures November 19, 2013 at 3:29 pm Reply

    Thanks! the broth, tea, ginger, cuddles and chocolate have all worked their magic! i’m feeling much better

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

